Clover cover: mechanical drawing of a leaf

clover082-1-1

Reb and Mike: If you were to un-explode and un-cutaway the object depicted, you would end up with a four-leaf clover. (And the toothbrush clearly got put to work on this artwork too!)

Nazar: Barney was full of ideas. I think he was interested in the indeterminacy of matter and in the role of the observer in the perception of an object. He once grabbed a book called “Anatomy of the Motor Car” off his shelf and showed me a drawing of a V12 engine. “Look at this, Naz, it could be a city!” Soon after he died, I found a second hand copy of the same book and still keep it on my bookshelf

Here’s a scan of the engine drawing that Barney showed me. It’s a 3-litre Matra V12 engine.

v12

While this is a technical illustration, the drawing does have a West Coast vibe to it! However, in the ongoing “Barney – West Coast or Not” debate, I would put myself on the “Not” side. 

DW: Explain.

Nazar: “West Coast” is usually mentioned by the ex-Hawkwind crowd when there’s an early seventies revivalist project in the offing and they need artwork (not Nik Turner, I hasten to add). I can think of, maybe, two pieces by Barney for HW that might have some West Coast styling, but otherwise remain unconvinced…

DW: Barney woulda’ disliked being tabbed as anything as limiting as ‘West Coast.’ West End maybe, I would think you could call him very cockney hip. School of Dan Leno.

New Anatomy

Nazar: As promised, here are some pictures of the New Anatomy artwork, which was done by me but carries the echo of Barney.

newanatomy_tshirt1newanatomy_frontnewanatomy_detailnewanatomy_back1

The images are of the front and back of the album sleeve, a detail from the front, and the t-shirt (which was actually designed first).

The front cover has the phrase “Concrete Hides” layered over the artwork. The rear cover says “Seek” at the centre and has a face collaged into the molecule.

Thanks for your interest. As mentioned, I would be happy to contribute more to your site and will gather my thoughts. My own site, currently being overhauled, lives over here –

http://www.scipop.com

By the way, I saw the Snow White painting over at Barney’s place in St Pauls’s Road.

Cheers, Nazar

