Barney Bubbles snaps Maisie P

Colin Fulcher snaps Margaret Minay. The top pic shows the invitation by postcard, the bottom pics show the results.

Margaret Minay writes: “I’m not sure what pictures you are going to use… The ones in Colin’s bedroom, or the ones in Syon Lodge. Or both?

Either way, you can be sure that on both occasions I was terrified.
I was very unsure of myself, and couldn’t really think why anybody would want to photograph me… But I was also very attracted to Colin, and as I said before, in awe of him.
When he was taking the photographs in his bedroom, I felt slightly more confident than when he took the pictures later in Syon Lodge, because we were alone and he was quiet and thoughtful, unlike when he was in college with his mates.
We listened to music, Leadbelly, I think it was, and, we spoke about a lot of the things I was interested in… namely jazz and politics… Because of my father’s influence I was brought up to be very left wing and we spoke about CND and my close friendship with another student, whom Colin had dubbed ‘Ban-the-bomb’ because of her involvement with the CND marches.
He also knew I was going to a concert to see Thelonius Monk and I think he was quite impressed… It was later that he sent me another postcard with a beautiful little painting of who he thought was Monk, but in fact it was Stevie Wonder. He’d just found a picture in a magazine and copied it without realising who it was… He cracked up when I told him.
The session in Syon Lodge was more difficult, because I was so self-conscious. He was cracking jokes all the time just to make me laugh. Nothing ever came of the photo-shoot, I don’t know why he thought anything would.

Now I just feel melancholy, thinking of that long time ago… “

