Hmm. Does any body ken when Fulcher was in Australia? I wonder would it have been in 1982?

I ask because that’s when I was there too. Considering it’s import, him dying and all, It would be a wry thing if so.

While I was there in New South Wales I got to commune with (read about) a local cultural hero, Wyndradine of the Wirrajuri (sp?) who was a charismatic Australian original who attracted a large following of cross-cultural supporters with his astute oratory. He talked back against the Pommie (British) settlers and cleverly defended his land with deft tactics.

I became interested in Wyndradine because of similar doings in the 1880’s I knew about in northern California Pit River Indian country. Pit River was so named by the European invaders but the Amerindians there are more properly known as Payute. But Payute is not their own name for themselves either, it is nearby Shumash(?) language for ‘people to the south.’ The Pit River name was derived from the fact that the Amerindians thereabouts buried their food in holes in the ground.

It was from these people that the ethnologist Lord Pitt Rivers took his name (I think it may have been his wife who asked for the added ‘T’). My first job, when I was 15 or so was writing captions for his collection of African masks, Amerindian canoes and the like in the obscure but incredibly exotic ethnological museum in Dorset England. The collection is now dispersed to the Met in New York and in the Pitt Rivers Museum in Oxford. It my belief that the Pitt Rivers Museum is the world’s best museum. No dainty cabinet of curiosities this, it is an enormous warehouse of the stuff of life all higgledepigledy strewn about with none of that moderne museum elegant space that ruined the British Museum for me.

Like the Australians, the Payute successfully defended their land. They hid in the tunnels of the of volcanic pumice. These Modoc crags were defended under the leadership of ‘Captain Jack.’ The Payute were the last Amerindians to successfully fight off the (mostly British) Yankee farmer/ prospector/ invaders’ – who were once more enclosing the commons.

In the 1880’s, Captain Jack in Modoc Co. California and the the Australian Wyndradine in NSW both battled back. Both killed at least two settlers with bent, unrifled guns, (this is all from memory, I could be wrong). But Wyndradine was also able to talk up a storm, He talked of how his legacy would live on, That those to come after him would shew the world what’s what – with death their ultimate ‘graphic’ ‘that being Barney’s interpretation at least. Barney was fascinated that we had both independently discovered this guy (but oddly he didn’t say when he were there, or more probably I didn’t hear). But he said he had handled a killing stone and what did I think? Then the phone rang, it was with news that Sex Pistol, McClaren was coming by, and he crouched off through the files and boxes in his basement alongside a hissing water heater.

